Who We Are

Our Mission

Keep Manatee Beautiful is dedicated to promoting community awareness and involvement in litter prevention, recycling and beautification throughout Manatee County.

We Are Volunteers

More than 10,000 volunteers help Keep Manatee Beautiful achieve its mission by engaging in litter cleanups, outdoor beautification projects and tree plantings.  Consider lending a hand with our many volunteer programs and events.

A Successful Plan for Community Change

Keep Manatee Beautiful is a nonprofit organization that inspires community involvement through its commitment to making Manatee County a cleaner and more beautiful environment. Established in Spring 1991 as an affiliate of Keep America Beautiful and Keep Florida Beautiful, Keep Manatee Beautiful has developed networks of volunteers who help provide grassroots solutions to:

  • Littering
  • Recycling
  • Illegal dumping
  • Beautification
  • Solid waste disposal

View our KMB Introduction slideshow and our Who We Are public service announcement.

2016 Board of Directors and Technical Advisory Committee
Back row from left: David Bocanegra (De Soto Nat. Memorial), Lt. Robert Andrews (Manatee Co. Sheriff’s Office), Lee Romanello (Florida Power & Light Company), Robert Longworth (Herons Watch HOA), Geoff Seger (City of Palmetto), Laura McAdams (The UPS Store Manatee Ave.), Mitzi Petty (Florida Dept. of Juvenile Justice), Heather Ferrara (Florida Dept. of Juvenile Justice), David Benson (PersonalizedPhotoart), Dan Callaghan (Callaghan Tire), Jim LoPiccolo (Citizen), Willie Cooper (Boys & Girls Clubs), Zan Fuller (City of Holmes Beach), Mike Bridges (Waste Management), Kyle Vickery (School District of Manatee Co.), Mary Runnells (Village Green of Bradenton), Mitchell Atkinson (Manatee Co. UF/IFAS Extension Serv.)  Front row from left: Ian Boyle (Waste Connections), Andrew Stillman (Stillman’s Tree Services), Exec. Dir. Ingrid McClellan, Vice Chairperson Whitney Knepp (The Artec Group), Chairman Keith Banasiak (Waste Pro), Secretary Uganda Harris (Hope Family Services), Marjorie Drake (Tropicana), Cris Singer (Citizen), and JoAnn Spencer (Citizen). Photograph by David A. Benson, PersonalizedPhotoart.com.

Board of Directors

Keith Banasiak – Chairman, Waste Pro
Whitney Knepp – Vice & Nominating Chairman, The Artec Group, Inc.
Marty Gainous – Treasurer, Peace River Electric Cooperative
Laura McAdams – Secretary, The UPS Store Manatee Avenue
Lt. Robert Andrews, Manatee Co. Sheriff’s Office
David Benson, Personalized Photoart
Brian Burriss, Waste Management
Dan Callaghan, Callaghan Tire
Marjorie Drake, Tropicana
Zan Fuller, City of Holmes Beach
Darren Haimer, Bradenton Herald
Uganda Harris, Hope Family Services
Susan Hochuli, City of Bradenton
Brittany Howard, Tropicana
Robert Longworth, Herons Watch HOA
Jim LoPiccolo, Citizen
Mitchell Moore, Manatee Chamber of Commerce & Stantec Consulting Services
Mitzi Petty, Florida Dept. of Juvenile Justice
Mary Runnells, Village Green of Bradenton
Stanley Sharek, Florida Power & Light Company
Cris Singer, Citizen
Andrew Stillman, Stillman’s Tree Services
Julianne Sunseri, Ad-VANCE Talent Solutions
Kyle Vickery, School District of Manatee Co.

Technical Advisory Committee

Michelle Atkinson, Manatee Co. UF/IFAS Extension Serv.
Ian Boyle, Waste Connections
Willie Cooper, Boys & Girls Clubs of Manatee Co.
Heather Ferrara, Florida Dept. of Juvenile Justice
Billy Malfese, Citizen
Terence Matthews, KMB Legal Advisor
Dep. Donnie Olmsted, Manatee Co. Sheriff’s Office
Geoff Seger, City of Palmetto
JoAnn Spencer, Citizen
Eric Strickland, Florida Forest Service
Scott Wood, Manatee Co. Gov.

Ingrid McClellan – Executive Director
Doris Waddell – Statistician
Michelle Davis – Administrative Coordinator
Peter Keenan – Certified Arborist & RLA
Jim Hanson – Webmaster
Kelly Hutchinson – Mascot Volunteer
Nanci Russell – Graphic Artist